Posted by: Ji-L87 | December 31, 2010

Happy New Year, have a picture

Also, late Happy Holidays/Merry Christmas/Seasons Greetings while I’m at it :p
My gift to you this lovely (but cold and snowy) evening is this:

1280x1024

1600x1200

1920x1200

It was supposed to be finished in time for Christmas but I really started a week too late and the fact that I just completed it makes that statement pretty accurate. (I’ve been working this week though so I haven’t been able to work on this all the time though.)

The hardest part to draw (and color) was probably the car. I spent a whole day just trying to draw it in different angles (and failed badly). I believe I succeeded in the end though.
Here’s the lineart if anyone’s interested in having a look…

Lineart

Let’s talk a little about this car, shall we?
I actually forgot this car existed until it appeared in one of Top Gear’s challenges from last season. It’s a 1990s Lotus Elan, a front engined, front wheel drive British sports car. I really like the look of this particular Elan and in my opinion, it manages to be a tad cooler than other similar cars, like the Mazda MX-5 (1st gen, mind you) and MG F.
I used to play a Lotus game when I was a kid, most probably Lotus III: The Ultimate Challenge and I remember being able to race with the Elan as well as the Esprit. And I remembering almost always choosing the Esprit… :p
Anyway, I’m off to enjoy some games before 2011 is upon us but for those who want to see more of the Lotus Elan, here’s some old Top Gear:

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Categories

