Posted by: Ji-L87 | January 11, 2008

Gokujou Seitokai

gokujou_seitokai_500.jpg

What do you get when you take an orange airhead, a self-aware hand puppet, payapaya, yurilicious fantasies and a supreme student council? The answer is Miyagami Gakuen Maximum Authority Holders, Highest Level Student Council, or Gokujou Student Council for short.

Actually, what got me to pick this up was this gif I found somewhere on the intarwebs and asked some friends for a source.

I marathoned this during breaks when I studied, and I think that pace was good for some parts of the show. But really…I’m…not really sure what this show wants to be. It’s got some quirky but interesting characters and it can be really amusing sometimes with repeating jokes that last throughout the episode but it can also be downright weird. …Yes…I’m mainly referring to the hand doll, Pucchan, here. I got one little question here: WHY?! /o/
While it’s true he does contribute sometimes, especially to the humor, I was bothered by his presence the whole time : x
I mean…..at least make him look better! orz

The show itself is 26 episodes long and, thankfully, the “final battle” isn’t in the last episode. I don’t know about you but I enjoy an ending that shows a little of the aftermath of what happened.
It also has a pretty strong “sense of justice”, and most cast members will act accordingly.
Animation wise, it’s decent. While it is clear that it’s no high-budget production and there are some scenes where maybe some more frames or details wouldn’t hurt, mostly action scenes, but as long as you don’t look too close (or slow-mo in VLC, lulz) it’s pretty watchable.

With that said, the show actually has some good moments where it shines but at the same time it seems maybe a bit too fascinated with gloomy character backgrounds. Thankfully, those parts are never dug too deep nor last for too long, as it is, overall, a bright show that you’ll able to enjoy…if you can overlook it’s more quirky side.

宮神学園
極大権限保有
最上級生徒会、動くぞ!:D
(Miyagami Gakuen Maximum Authority Holders, Highest Level Student Council: Moving out!) *poses*

…oh…and I also finished Goshuushou-sama Ninomiya-kun. Shinobu dressed in a suit is made of win and epic =w=

Responses

  1. Well this looks pretty awesome and I’m intending to check it out.


Leave a Reply

Categories

