Posted by: Ji-L87 | November 26, 2007

Ghost in the Shell (1st movie)

1175571193779_cropped.jpg

Last movie in the course mentioned was Ghost in the Shell (Koukaku Kidoutai). The 1st movie anyway.

While the animation was maybe not as smooth as in Mononoke Hime or Akira, it was full of details.
I especially liked the firefight in the beginning and the slower part where Motoko goes around town. The backgrounds and attention to details was really impressive. Batou and Togusa were pretty recognizable to their GitS: SAC counterparts but Motoko and Aramaki looked a little more “freaky”, and I prefer the style used in Stand Alone Complex over this. However, even if it was a little darker and maybe focused a little more on existential questions than the TV series (even if they also are apparent in the SAC), I enjoyed it.
It also turned on my mecha-moe with those cool choppers the snipers used and how we get to see Motoko tinkering with her SMG in the end there 😀

Now, excuse me as I go look for a torrent of GitS: Innocence

(…and my backlog of things to watch is still pretty big…;^;)

EDIT:

Look what I found when browsing through ANIME: From Akira to Howl’s Moving Castle by Susan J. Napier:
lol_gits_napier2.jpg

I’m fairly sure I didn’t see any laser rifles :p

Responses

  1. No WTF moments?
    Weird :p

    But maybe it was because I watched it when I was much younger that made me miss everything.

    If I remember Innocence correct then it´s even weirder than GITS so hopefully this time there will be WTF moments for you :p

  2. Well, I might’ve found it a bit more WTF if we didn’t spend the rest of the lesson to analyze it afterwards…well…some moments were a bit wtf but I’d still say that Akira excels in that case. 😀

  3. Hey, what is that first screenshot?! Motoko aiming Zastaber, from a helicopter? That wasn’t in the movie… Can somebody explain???

  4. @snake: I don’t really know either, I guess it’s just a promo-thing like “she does these kinda things” or something…I quite like the picture tho’ and I too would like to know more about it….


Leave a Reply

Categories

